Hello, everyone.

phoebex2

Reaction score
Hi, my name's Phoebe (pronounced "feeby") and I'm new here... this is my first time actually using x10 hosting or this forum, so beware the newby, I guess. I'm not a complete novice at having a website, I've just never built one that was worth looking at, but I hope to change that soon.

It's nice to meet everyone here, even the ones who don't go in for greetings, and I hope that me being here will maybe give me the incentive I need to get this website idea off the ground at last.

essellar

Community Advocate
Community Support
Reaction score
Hi, Phoebe, and welcome. Unfortunately, this isn't quite the vibrant community it used to be — as you may have suspected, given that it has taken this long for anybody to reply to you.

It used to be a requirement that everybody log into the forum at least once a month to keep their accounts active, and since they were here anyway, people would read and post things other than service requests. Sometimes it would get silly, and silly is a good thing. We don't see nearly as much activity since the login rule changed. There are still a few of us who spend quite a bit of time here, though, and we'll be more than happy to answer questions or discuss approaches to building and maintaining a site (in the "programming" and "design" forums) or just chew the fat (in the "off topic" forum).

phoebex2

Reaction score
Most people never bother posting on forums unless they have something to gain by it, really. I'd say about 90% of the people on the internet are just looking for ways to kill time, and forums tend to ask people to post in the written equivalents of spoken languages and most people these days still can't even spell properly in chatspeak. :)

I like to think I'm a little different. I noticed the forum was slow and it didn't stop me from saying hi, and even in the correct forum section, and I knew, beyond the shadow of a doubt, that someone who can spell would eventually say hi back.