PHP Database Search

andylpsx

Reaction score
So I am still learning PHP and PDO and I am trying to compare a name that was wrote in a text box to what I have in my database. I tried with a query but the problem was when it found a matching first name in the database it would print it out regardless of if the last name and first name were together. Now I searched around and found prepare and using WHERE ... and that may be working but I can't figure out how to print the value from the database, with the query it was

PHP:
foreach(db->query('SELECT........') as $cert) { }

and I could use the $cert['xxxxx']; to see the value from the database but with this prepare I can't figure out how to display what is in the database. my php currently looks like:

PHP:
    $query = $db->prepare('SELECT UID, fname, lname, Date_Reg FROM users WHERE fname = :fnameForm && lname = :lnameForm');
    $query->bindValue(':fnameForm', $fnameForm);
    $query->bindValue(':lnameForm', $lnameForm);

The entire purpose is to build an image, a certificate, that users get when they pay their fees, I have the generating down and all that working but now I want to make sure that it reads from the database and knows who has paid and no. Basically if they are in the database they have paid so I have a

PHP:
$fnameForm $_GET['fname'];