CSS pointer-events alternative?

be3le3x1

Reaction score
Hello I'm new to web design it's literally just started today and I was wondering if there was an alternative to using the point-events command or code whatever you call it.

I'm having some trouble with my website I'm using opacity in some of my div's which is making content within those sections unclickable. I read in a forum to use pointer-events;none to solve the issue but it created another issue :mad:.... My content can now be click only by Firefox and Chrome users while IE10 and Opera ignore pointer-events;none. My question is there a way to force these browsers to recognize this command or an alternative method of achieving the desire effect without losing div's opacity's?

Any help with this issue is much appreciated. Thank you. :wink:

essellar

Community Advocate
Community Support
Reaction score
It might help if you were to explain what you're trying to accomplish. pointer-events is not part of CSS yet outside of SVG (it's no longer part of the CSS3-UI working draft; it may be under consideration for the CSS4 UI module). Normally, the whole point of overlays is to intercept mouse events (in a misguided attempt to provide no-copy "security"), and I can't think of a good reason to obscure underlying elements that you want to be actionable.

be3le3x1

Reaction score
I'm attempting to create rounded edge bordered sections with a background color that'll have a transparency effect using opacity allowing the background of the site to show through. I figured pointer-events wasn't compatible with all the browsers yet but it does however work for chrome and firefox which I happen to be using. I know I could create this effect using photoshop and uploading the images but since I am new with web design and coding in general I'd like use coding as much as possible instead of using photoshop as a crutch.

here is the css
Code:
float:left;
position:absolute;
left:0px;
top:40px;
pointer-events:none;