What's your Antivirus & Firewall

Discussion in 'Scripts, 3rd Party Apps, and Programming' started by stealth_thunder, Mar 25, 2005.

  1. MicrotechXP

    MicrotechXP New Member

    Messages:
    7,644
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I use Norton System Works 2004 for my Anti-Vitus and all that.... and for my firewall I use Norton Internet Security 2004 for the firewall and the other things....
     
  2. CheetahShrk

    CheetahShrk New Member

    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I use Norton Internet Secruity 2005 and eTrust EZ AntiVirus.
     
  3. o0slowpaul0o

    o0slowpaul0o New Member

    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nortan Anti Virus 3005 and Panda Anti Virus which totally rules for blocking of a Virus and deleteing a couple of seconds later..

    And Firewall I use, Norton Internet Security 2004 and Zone Alarm Pro firewall
     
  4. Dark.Cobra

    Dark.Cobra New Member

    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I stay away from Nortan, hasn't lived up to expectations for me and past clients; also hogged resources like a.....

    For virus protection, I go with AVGFree. And for firewall, nothing beats a good solid Hardware firewall, which is provided by my SMC 7004VBR 4port router with a 8port switch attached ;) (Yes, i need that many ports)... Oh, and I also got this WinXP firewall thingy runing & the firewalls in Fedora.
     
  5. MicrotechXP

    MicrotechXP New Member

    Messages:
    7,644
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Norton is the best! What are you talking about it is second best in firewall for 2005 and second best in anti-virus for 2005. It was the best in both for the year 2004 thats why I got it then and for 2006 its going to be the best...
     
  6. Dark.Cobra

    Dark.Cobra New Member

    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I actually was working for an On Call computer repair company here in Toronto, and we saw serveral computers come in with Nortan installed, and still were horribly infected, some to the point that we couldnt remove the virii.

    Mag's and online sites might rate it high, but when you work in the field, thats when you see what really goes on.

    All-in-all, no antivirus or firewall will keep you safe. Unless you're unplugged from the internet... or runing linux... you're still at risk. The best antivirus is your head. Dont go to sites like "freeuberl33tultrahappyfunhour.iownzjoo" or these "free" porn sites that have their own "Dailers" and stuff. Oh, and dont trust Kazzaa.
     
  7. bigguy

    bigguy Retired

    Messages:
    10,984
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    38
    I use xp sp2 firewall
    Mcafee anti-virus
    Mcafee firewall
    Ad aware
    spybot
    spyware blaster
    toolbar cop
    google toolbar for popups
    spyware guard
    I dont think I forgot any LOL oh and I just uninstalled spy sweep. Oh yeah and microsoft anti spyware
     
  8. Origin

    Origin New Member

    Messages:
    1,082
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Norton takes too long to load.
     
  9. stealth_thunder

    stealth_thunder New Member

    Messages:
    556
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nod32 is the fastest antivirus to load, it allows you to terminate virus on the fly that is a features which norton does not have
     
  10. Bryon

    Bryon I Fix Things

    Messages:
    8,149
    Likes Received:
    101
    Trophy Points:
    48
    I have ZoneAlarm... and no anti-virus. Anyone want to H4x0r me? ports 1337, 80, and... some other one are open to thee general public...


    Not good not good...
     
  11. izmaelis

    izmaelis Member

    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I just installed free Computer Associates eTrust EZ Antivirus (12 month trial) and I'm quite happy with it. I use Windows XP built-in firewall too. It fits my needs cause my computer is behind router with hardware firewall enabled on it. I think I'm quite safe.
     

Share This Page