403 Forbidden error

Status
Not open for further replies.

englis29

Reaction score
Hello,

So I'm new to X10 host, just started using it yesterday because with 000webhost my site was always down.

Anyway I linked SimpleMachinesForum with my domain installed it and was installing themes. However I tried modifying the css in the theme under "index.css" however when I put save I get this error message:

Forbidden
You don't have permission to access /index.php on this server.

Additionally, a 403 Forbidden error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request.

What is going on? I've done some research and have tried deleting mod_security in my cpanel but it doesn't show up under the "Security" tab. I've tried changing the permissions of the directories and files but it doesn't seem to work.
This problem didn't occur when I was using 000webhost.
Please help!

bdistler

Prime Account
Reaction score
have tried deleting mod_security
while x10hosting discourage it - Premium account users have the ability to completely disable [ mod_security ] on their account via cPanel

For free-hosting accounts - x10hosting has a customized web server setup that does not allow for the same cPanel functionality to disable all or part of [ mod_security ] - and users can not use the [ .htaccess ] file to disable all or part of it - x10hosting decided it would not be a good idea to allow free-hosting users to disable any of it - as it is used to not only protect against inbound malicious attacks but to prevent outbound abuse also - Unfortunately free-hosting still gets abusive signups - and allowing those abusive users to disable something that helps to prevent their malicious actions would not be in x10hosting's best interest

only Admins can adjust [ mod_security ] for free-hosting accounts - we (users) can not use a [ .htaccess ] file to disable or adjust it
###

I've tried changing the permissions of the directories and files