Audio-Video COnferencing

4allofus

Reaction score
Hi,

I am a relative newbie web developer and I just recently upgraded to the x10 Static Package and purchased a static IP to host a website www.4ALLofUS.com.

Corey has been very helpful and supportive and the transition went smoothly I am pleased to say.

You may or may not be aware that Skype.com suspended the skypecast service on 1st September 2008. Members and admins alike at 4ALLofUS met, on the most part after frequenting skypecasts and now the group/s are fragmented.

I am seeking a solution to this problem. 4ALLofUS is not for profit and we do not have any revenue streams, no kitty to purchase applications but we are wanting to provide an audio-video conference type environment where people can come and go at will.

Viedo is not a high priority but we do want to have an audio room intergrated into our website.

Q. Does x10hosting support chat-servers?
Q. Do we need a chat-server or is there another way?
Q. Do you have or know of a free script / bundle / package that can be installed on our website? and if so are you willing to help us to setup?

If you review our website you will see quite quickly that we are not striving for personal gain or profit, quite the opposite and sadly the suspension of skypecasts has hindered our ability to communicate effectively, strategise and keep the ball rolling slowly but surely forward.

I have looked at ventrillo and teamspeak which do the job but I have a few questions and problems.

The main problem I have is the need to install software and configure as a client, web-based would be preferable, desired, better and easier.

Q. can ventrillo or teamspeak be installed on the x10hosting servers?

Q. is there a better alternative that is web-based.