How To Make Header Images in The Gimp That Don't Look Terrible

ThePaintGuru

Reaction score
Are you a complete newbie, who uses sites like bannerbreak.com to generate titles?

Want to make something a little more appealing and unique?

Here are a few quick tricks for you:

For this tutorial, you need the free image editor called The Gimp (GNU Image Manipulator Program), which you can get at gimp.org. Photoshop will also work fine, but the commands will be different.

When I make a header image, I always use a gradient. Why? Gradients have become popular because they look nice and don't require much effort or skill to create, which is great for me :). Let's say you want to create a header based on this background image, which is the easiest way to do this.

First, go to a free stock photo site like openphoto.net or piotrpix.com. You want the image to be generic and look nice. Get it into The Gimp by right clicking on the image, copying it, and then pasting it as a new image under FILE> ACQUIRE.

Next, create an image the size that you want your header. Here we'll do 640x200, which is a little on the small side but will be faster for you to view if you have dial-up. On a real site it will usually be 720 or 800 pixels wide.

You have 2 options now:

1. If you can crop a nice horizontal section of the photo, do it this way ON THE ORIGINAL PHOTO YOU PASTED AS NEW. You will want to select an area that is within the aspect ratio of your image, so after you have clicked the select tool check the Fixed box, go to aspect ratio, and type the size of your image (IE 640:200). Then go to crop to selection, and scale it to the size of your header by selecting it and using IMAGE> Crop to selection.