PHP Mail Script Sends After Awhile

nostradamus

Reaction score
Hi, everyone. I'm trying to test out a PHP mail script using Mail(). This is apparently supposed to be very simple to execute, however, I noticed that the emails that I send to myself while using this script don't arrive in my inbox until perhaps a few days or hours.

Does anyone know why this would be? I am a beginner at sending Emails with coding and I would love some assistance with this one.

Thank you!

essellar

Community Advocate
Community Support
Reaction score
It's not what you're doing that's the problem. Oh, rather, there's probably nothing wrong with your code. If the mail gets there at all, you've done it right. The problem is that there's an awful lot of traffic on the servers here, all of which is checked on the way out for quantity/frequency, header spoofing and phishing attempts, and a lot of not-mail stuff weighing the system down as well.

There are two services I suggest people look at for different reasons. (They're both from the same company, which might raise some red flags for you. I have no connection with the company at all, other than that I have used them for clients. Whenever anyone suggests anything like this, do your own research on the web first before acting—you don't want to get burned or involved in anything shady. And this is not the only company doing it; they're just the one I know best.)