What are the DNS nameservers?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nonis

Reaction score
I just bought a domain, and it says I need to put in dns nameservers. I'm new to this kinda, so what do I put?

Brandon

Former Senior Account Rep
Community Support
Reaction score
Code:
ns1.x10hosting.com
ns2.x10hosting.com

Cynical

Reaction score
They are ns1.x10hosting.com and ns2.x10hosting.com. If it asks for a third, leave it blank.

EDIT: Brandon... :(

Last edited:
Reaction score
I have a problem, anyway I have just bought a domain from domaindirect.com and it isn't working. When I go to change the nameservers it says that if I change the primary nameserver from 'ns1.domaindirect.com' it will erase my account. I need to change my nameserver to 'ns1.x10hosting.com' for it to work so what do I do? My domain address is http://www.halonirvana.com and my website is http://www.halonirvana.x10hosting.com.

Starshine

Legend Killer
Reaction score
I have a problem, anyway I have just bought a domain from domaindirect.com and it isn't working. When I go to change the nameservers it says that if I change the primary nameserver from 'ns1.domaindirect.com' it will erase my account. I need to change my nameserver to 'ns1.x10hosting.com' for it to work so what do I do? My domain address is http://www.halonirvana.com and my website is http://www.halonirvana.x10hosting.com.

Wow. I've never heard of a domain company telling someone their account would be lost if they changed the nameserver of a domain they owned.
Can you possibly give us a screenshot of this warning / threat ?? It may be possible that it was taken out of context.

YamiKaitou

Reaction score
I don't see any place saying they will delete the domain, just the additional services they provide. Domain Direct is not the only Domain provider that does that, there are a few out there that prevent you from using their services (besides the use of the domain) if you change the default nameservers

YamiKaitou

Reaction score