who here uses game maker?

freestuff

Reaction score
I do. I think it's great, and it's really not as limiting as people realise. It's just because people make low quality games. If you're interested in Game Maker, follow this link:
http://www.gamemaker.nl

So..anyone else use it? Or am I the oddball who does? :greddy2:

swirly

Reaction score
i believe there was a topic on this before...ill find it real quick brb...

swirly

Reaction score
naw naw its kool i didnt find it anyways lol but yeah i use it...im thinkin bout makin a hacker type game.

Cynical

Reaction score
I remember that topic but it has gotta be a couple years old...

A few people around here do, including myself (if you are a member of the GMC you may have seen me or Chirantha around there, and we are both also members here). I've been using it since 2002, so I consider myself a pretty experienced user...

I agree totally that GM is often underestimated. Many people consider it a tool for only beginners because of its friendly interface, but as you know it is a very capable program :).

SEÑOR

The Guy Everyone Hates
Reaction score
Is it hard? Id like to try it. ANy1 know any tutorials?

Last edited:

Cynical

Reaction score
It's not hard at all. I started learning with hardly and computer skills at all (never mind programming) in 6th grade. There are plenty of "official" tutorials on gamemaker.nl and hundreds more by advanced users on the Game Maker Community (GMC: forums.gamemaker.nl). Most users start off using GM's drag-and-drop actions, which are very helpful in seeing how a game's actions are structured. From there most learn Game Maker's built-in programming language called GML (Game Maker Language... hehe), which can most easily be compared to PHP. I highly recommend it for anyone who wishes to make their own games, programs, or screen savers :) .

noerrorsfound

Reaction score
freestuff said: