x10hosting closing?

Discussion in 'Feedback and Suggestions' started by rimjim_bristi200549, Oct 17, 2010.

  1. rimjim_bristi200549

    rimjim_bristi200549 New Member

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Now I know this may come off strange but I was wondering why I'm unable access x10hosting's main page since roughly 2 days. When I type the URL, I'm shown a page that is normally associated with domains that have not yet been taken. I get redirected to a URL like this:

    Code:
    http://fileinxt.com/?dn=x10powered.com&fp=w%2FV89GmI%2Bh3trPG0m5hRlDhJVYrSjWuxq2U82OBfkS6tquL4yJUX4%2F1rWWMI4e9CZBsqWJmOzqMOiJwPTXGJUQ%3D%3D&prvtof=8JJdGpktlTZR7DyuIS2D70kd2%2FHqfuOsQfi2eg5hAiGt92FfLUSwYzI9v%2FpWHGve&poru=l%2FU4fjFCAjzXeUG5ipTH1ecT9KdOukyatXf47hiGCFzALUF4JRh2POs6EZD9Fuii6%2FOEFp1yVXeImyf1T%2FKvueUjU21H8APVc%2FBuKQ1gwvg%3D&cifr=1&flrdr=yes&nxte=js
    But I'm still able to access the forums as usual, and all other sites I visit regularly are working just fine.

    I'm very confused, is x10hosting closing down or something? Or is there a problem on my end?
     
  2. Smith6612

    Smith6612 I ate all of the x10Pizza Community Support

    Messages:
    6,518
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    48
    It would have to be a problem somewhere on your end at least for the time being. I haven't had any issues reaching anything on x10Hosting, and an official announcement would have been posted if x10 were actually shutting down. x10 is alive and well, and definitely won't be going anywhere anytime soon :)
     
  3. rimjim_bristi200549

    rimjim_bristi200549 New Member

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well that's a relief. Any clues as to what might be causing this? I've tested on another connection (different ISP) I have at home, same issue there :(

    edit: Tested with a proxy, site loads up fine :(
     
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2010
  4. Smith6612

    Smith6612 I ate all of the x10Pizza Community Support

    Messages:
    6,518
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    48
    First thing I'd try to do is try alternate DNS servers. Instead of using your ISP's servers for example, you could use Google's DNS servers at 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4 or Level3's servers at 4.2.2.2 and 4.2.2.3 .
     
  5. Livewire

    Livewire Abuse Compliance Officer Staff Member

    Messages:
    18,166
    Likes Received:
    215
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Actually Smith, not to be a nay-say or anything, we noticed this on IRC too.

    We accidentally let a domain name expire; it's been fixed but the "expired" DNS records still are gunna take a bit to get worked back out of the system with the "renewed" updates :)


    EDIT: Also in case it wasn't clear, it wasn't -intentionally- let to expire, it just got forgotten. We're not going anywhere yet at least :)
     
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2010
  6. rimjim_bristi200549

    rimjim_bristi200549 New Member

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well I guess then it will auto-fix itself now.

    Thanks for the replies :biggrin:
     
  7. Smith6612

    Smith6612 I ate all of the x10Pizza Community Support

    Messages:
    6,518
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Didn't know that, but I might not have been around at an ideal time to find that out too.
     

Share This Page