SQL errors and PHP

fguy64

Reaction score
OK, I am trying to get a handle on what kind of mySQL errors will feed info back to php. I know connection errors feed back to php and back to browsers, but what about the following...
Code:
{
    mysql_query( "INSERT INTO users VALUES ("
                +"'" +$id +"',"
                +"'" +$pwd +"',"
                +"'" +$email +"')" );

header( "Location: menu.htm" );
}

the code block executes because I get redirected to menu.htm. But my users table doesn't get updated. I tried just removing the header() function, but then I get a blank page. I'ne looked the INSERT statement over pretty closely, I don't see anything wrong, but I'm just a rookie.

So the question is what can I make out of the fact that no error information gets returned to the browser, yet clearly the mysql_query is not working.

thanks.

xav0989

Community Public Relation
Community Support
Reaction score
try a try-catch block:
PHP:
function exception_error_handler($errno, $errstr, $errfile, $errline ) {
throw new ErrorException($errstr, 0, $errno, $errfile, $errline);
}
set_error_handler("exception_error_handler");

try {
                +"'" +$id +"',"
                +"'" +$pwd +"',"
                +"'" +$email +"')" );
} catch (Exception $e) {
    exit('Caught exception: ',  $e->getMessage());
}

The code provided above is not meant to be on a production server. If you intend to use it on a production server, use this instead:
PHP:
function exception_error_handler($errno, $errstr, $errfile, $errline ) {
throw new ErrorException($errstr, 0, $errno, $errfile, $errline);
}
set_error_handler("exception_error_handler");

try {
                +"'" +$id +"',"
                +"'" +$pwd +"',"
                +"'" +$email +"')" );
} catch (Exception $e) {
    //write more advance data to an error log.
    exit('There was an unexpected error.');
}