My First Time With PHP ~ Errors- Help?

chaotixs

Reaction score
Hello! I'm back with another question. So this is my first time working with PHP, and I apologize in advance if I come off as not knowing what I'm doing at all.

Anywho, I'm working on a new project for my company, and I need a login system; and I'm currently stuck in creating the database system. I'm working on a file called "connect.inc.php" and I'm following instructions, and I continuously get the same error. I think I understand it, that it can't find the database, but I don't know how to point it in the right direction.

I keep getting the following error...
"Warning: mysql_connect(): Access denied for user 'localhost'@'localhost' (using password: NO) in /home/chaotixs/public_html/projectPopcorn/inc/connect.inc.php on line 2
Couldnt Find Server"

Help please! I'll be happy to provide more information.

descalzo

Grim Squeaker
Community Support
Reaction score
A. DO NOT USE mysql_XXXX -- it is deprecated and will be removed from PHP at a later date. Use mysqli_XXXX or PDO

B. Without posting the code, how do you expect a reasonable answer? If you do post code, do not include your password (put ******* instead).

C. From the error message, a) probably do not have the host set to "localhost" and b) you do not have the password set anyway

Last edited by a moderator:

chaotixs

Reaction score
A. DO NOT USE mysql_XXXX -- it is deprecated and will be removed from PHP at a later date. Use mysqli_XXXX or PDO

B. Without posting the code, how do you expect a reasonable answer? If you do post code, do not include your password (put ******* instead).

C. From the error message, a) probably do not have the host set to "localhost" and b) you do not have the password set anyway

Code:
<?php
mysql_connect("localhost","localhost","") or die ("Couldnt Find Server");
mysql_select_db("chaotixs_accounts") or die ("Couldn't Select DB");
?>

Is that what you needed?

essellar

Community Advocate
Community Support