accessing cPanel problem (Need Admin help)

Status
Not open for further replies.

aliasneo

Reaction score
It appears (after I have read some forum posts) that I made a mistake and used the wrong type of client to access the FTP (I used WinSCP) and now I'm blocked and can't access lotus.x10hosting.com. I have now switched to the correct client (FileZilla) could you please unblock my IP address. Thanks

Last edited:

aliasneo

Reaction score
Thanks for the quick reply, IP address has been PM'd to you, apologies for my stupidity. I'm new to this stuff.

TechAsh

Retired
Reaction score
I have unblocked the IP. You should be able to access the server now.
Reason it was blocked was "5 SSH login failures".

aliasneo

Reaction score
Thanks, I just hope I get it right this time, I downloaded the configuration registery file for FileZilla but it seems Windows 7 doesn't like it, and there is no site configuration in my FileZilla.

I'm adding it manually, but i'm not to sure about how everything should be set.

TechAsh

Retired
Reaction score
Try the following:

Host: {YourSiteURL}
User: {cPanelUsername}
Pass: {cPanelPassword}
Port: 21

aliasneo

Reaction score
Thanks, I have it working like this, but I wanted to use the secure method.

This is where I was confused, in the settings it lists SFTP which I looked for in FileZilla, but SFTP is SSH FTP, where as Secure FTP (this is the intended instruction?) is FTPS.

Even with FTPS and 776 as port I can not connect.

normal FTP is now working though, which is a start, thanks.

TechAsh

Retired
Reaction score
You can try "FTPS" and "FTPES" but I'm not sure if they will work, they may not be configured server side.
Do not use "SFTP", as that will get you blocked.

aliasneo

Reaction score
By server side do you mean not configured from you guys, or from something I can change in the cpanel?

If i try to access Secure FTP as per instructions given to me in the FTP Client Configuration in cPanel, i cannot connect.

aliasneo