Building a project management site

guancharlie25

Reaction score
Hi guys, I'm a young web development student, and my boss recently asked me to design a site for project management. He said that he's ok with it being done in Wordpress.

Right now, I've finished listing a few project goals but have not yet created milestones of when I expect to get a set of goals done.

I just want to get the site up and running, and to be able to make an easy to use log entry system for employees at my workplace to log what they've done on a calendar.

Anyways, I was wondering if any of you had any advice or tips on project management.
:confused:

We've looked at basecampHQ, but basecamp doesn't really offer the customizability of a site built for one's own company.

I'm going to uninstall and transfer the latest backups of my e-commerce site to my hdd, then I will install wordpress using something like softaculous. Then I will try out a wordpress plugin for project management. Hopefully it works :biggrin:

We are a large company, and I just want to build the first milestone of the site using free hosting for now before I transfer everything to a paid site. I want to get the first milestone done and show it to my boss so we can talk about the possibilities of continuing down this path or trying something else.

The employees using the site will primarily be doing office and construction work.
I will be making the site on my own, and I have the rest of the summer to finish the site.

SierraAR

Community Advocate
Community Support
Reaction score
Alright, first off, let me say this: Do NOT install Wordpress using softaculous. Do it manually via FTP, by downloading it from here: http://wordpress.org
Softaculous has been known to completely botch software installs. Also, if you do use wordpress, I would recommend using the wp-supercache plugin to help prevent any high resource usage suspensions that may arise if you're planning to use the free hosting service.