Coding Help!!! I'm a noob.

lamusica

Reaction score
How can I get My Users for this chat I'm Working on. I have been trying this code...

HTML
<form action="uploadavatar.php" method="post" enctype="mulipart/form-data">
<input type="file" name="file" />
<input type="submit" name="submit" class="button" />
</form>
PHP

<?php
if (move_uploaded_file($_FILES['file']['tmp_name'], "../avatar/")) {
print "Received {$_FILES['file']['name']} - its size is {$_FILES['userfile']['size']}";
} else {
print "Upload failed!";
}
?>

Here's the URL to my beta right now.
http://vago.x10.mx/chat3/index.php

essellar

Community Advocate
Community Support
Reaction score
Okay — the HTML form and PHP snippet have nothing to do with the question you asked up top (they're just about uploading an avatar image file), and your URL requires a registration and login to see anything. It's really hard to help given those circumstances.

Can you simply explain what it is you're trying to do?

lamusica

Reaction score
Okay — the HTML form and PHP snippet have nothing to do with the question you asked up top (they're just about uploading an avatar image file), and your URL requires a registration and login to see anything. It's really hard to help given those circumstances.

Can you simply explain what it is you're trying to do?
Sorry, Here is a testing account.
User: Test@Test.com
Pass: test
What Im trying to do is allow the users to upload a avatar.
I was thinking about making it through mysql. (blobs).

caftpx10

Reaction score
Sorry, Here is a testing account.
User: Test@Test.com
Pass: test
What Im trying to do is allow the users to upload a avatar.
I was thinking about making it through mysql. (blobs).
Are you also uploading the actual files to the server?, if so then that could possibly violate the ToS.

If you're wanting to just store the image links to the database so they can be used as an avatar then that's good enough.