College Student needs something to do...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wolfhaze

Reaction score
I am a student in Tempe, AZ studying game development, software engineering, and artificial life. I do not, however, have a job and am looking either for a way to supplement living costs (I'm spread more than just a little thin on money.. :( ) or for volunteer work where I could later earn a recommendation or just some experience learning to do something new.

I am NOT experienced with databases, PHP, or most forms of web programming; my own website here is just running WordPress, but I can troubleshoot well enough to figure out how to run and set-up MediaWiki or most CMSs for the most basic needs. I also am NOT experienced with making web graphics, although I do have a small amount of common sense when it comes to design.

I AM currently learning to program C#. In the summer, I hope to be experienced enough to jump into Silverlight development. This could be even sooner if I have actual tasks to work and something to practice with. :)

I AM currently learning Flash, for game development. By fall, I should hopefully be experienced enough to tackle most tasks involving Flash, but am not ready for that just yet.

Can do..
* Basic C/C++ programming
* Pick up C-like languages fairly well; I have previously worked in MUDs that used LPC.
* Forum moderation
* Data entry, proofreading, or other word-processing tasks
* Technical support (see below)
* Any task for which you are willing to provide training, especially customer service/support or programming-related.

I would especially be interested in game-related projects.