Cron trouble

daron0382

New Member
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Points
0
hey can someone help me out with cron jobs?? I don't use none smaller than 5 minutes but they still never work. I have a 5 minute, 1 hour & 1 day cron(s) can some guide me on how to properly set up cron jobs.

Sent from my LG-P509 using Tapatalk
 

descalzo

Grim Squeaker
Community Support
Messages
9,373
Reaction score
326
Points
83
Code:
/usr/bin/php /home/igor/public_html/cron_job.php >>/home/igor/public_html/cron_log.txt 2>&1

Is a command line that will run the PHP script and log any output or error messages. You can place the script and log file anywhere.

Timing:

Code:
0 	0 	* 	* 	*

Will run your once a day job at 12:00 Midnight.

Next, you want your once an hour job.

Code:
0 	* 	* 	* 	*

is what the cPanel would give you using the 'Common Settings', but that will also go off at 12:00 midnight. Against the TOS. So, have it go off at half past the hour instead:

Code:
30 	* 	* 	* 	*

Lastly, you want your 5 minute job.

If you set it to:

Code:
0/5	* 	* 	* 	*

It will go off at half past each hour. Same as your hourly job. Against T.O.S. So you have to improvise, having it skip that time:

Code:
0,5,10,15,20,25,35,40,45,50,55 	* 	* 	* 	*

But this goes off at midnight too. Against T.O.S. Easiest way is to adjust it so it does not go off on the hour:

Code:
5,10,15,20,25,35,40,45,50,55 	* 	* 	* 	*

If you want to squeeze in as many as possible, replace the one line with two. First schedule the ones for the midnight hour:

Code:
5,10,15,20,25,35,40,45,50,55 	0 	* 	* 	*

The schedule all the rest

Code:
0,5,10,15,20,25,35,40,45,50,55 	1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,11,12,13,14,15,16,17,18,19,20,21,22,23 	* 	* 	*
 

daron0382

New Member
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Thank you so much!!!! This is the best help i ever had on crons. i am enetering them now, hopefully theey work. i will get back to you to inform you if they worked or not.

---------- Post added at 10:25 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:01 PM ----------

alright so the crons work now. BUT problem is, there not refilling the brave, energy, & will like they are suppose to :( heres the code
PHP:
<?php
include "config.php";
global $_CONFIG;
if($_GET['code'] != $_CONFIG['code']) { die(""); }
define("MONO_ON", 1);
require "class/class_db_{$_CONFIG['driver']}.php";
$db=new database;
$db->configure($_CONFIG['hostname'],
 $_CONFIG['username'],
 $_CONFIG['password'],
 $_CONFIG['database'],
 $_CONFIG['persistent']);
$db->connect();
$c=$db->connection_id;
$set=array();
$settq=$db->query("SELECT * FROM settings");
while($r=$db->fetch_row($settq))
{
$set[$r['conf_name']]=$r['conf_value'];
}
//brave update
$query="UPDATE users SET brave=brave+((maxbrave/10)+0.5) WHERE brave<maxbrave ";
$query2="UPDATE users SET brave=maxbrave WHERE brave>maxbrave";
$query3="UPDATE users SET hp=hp+(maxhp/3) WHERE hp<maxhp";
$query4="UPDATE users SET hp=maxhp WHERE hp>maxhp";
$query6="UPDATE users SET dexterity=dexterity+5 WHERE dexterity < max_dexterity";
$query7="UPDATE users SET dexterity=max_dexterity WHERE dexterity > max_dexterity";
$db->query($query);
$db->query($query2);
$db->query($query3);
$db->query($query4);
$db->query($query6);
$db->query($query7);
//enerwill update
$query="UPDATE users SET energy=energy+(maxenergy/(12.5)) WHERE energy<maxenergy AND donatordays=0";
$query5="UPDATE users SET energy=energy+(maxenergy/(6)) WHERE energy<maxenergy AND donatordays>0";
$query2="UPDATE users SET energy=maxenergy WHERE energy>maxenergy";
$query3="UPDATE users SET will=will+10 WHERE will<maxwill";
$query4="UPDATE users SET will=maxwill WHERE will>maxwill";
$db->query($query);
$db->query($query5);
$db->query($query2);
$db->query($query3);
$db->query($query4);
if($set['validate_period'] == 5 && $set['validate_on'])
{
$db->query("UPDATE users SET verified=0");
}
if($set['validate_period'] == 15 && $set['validate_on'] && in_array(date('i'),array("00", "15", "30", "45")))
{
$db->query("UPDATE users SET verified=0");
}
?>
this is the 5 minute cron by the way
 
Last edited:

descalzo

Grim Squeaker
Community Support
Messages
9,373
Reaction score
326
Points
83
Code:
if($_GET['code'] != $_CONFIG['code']) { die(""); }

Are you calling this cron via wget or curl ? That is the only way $_GET would have values.

Step one would be to put a message in the die(), so you can see (it will end up in the log file you set up on the cron command line) that you have a problem there.

Code:
$result = $db->query($query);

echo "First update returned: $result \n":

Not familiar with the db library you are using, but they usually return the number of rows affected. The echo will print to the log file.
 

daron0382

New Member
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Points
0
no i didnt use curl. would i add curl to the cron command or the cron.php? a friend said in the command but i trust u more. besides his format was different he said something like Curl http://www.blah.com/cron_fivemins.php

---------- Post added at 07:42 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:12 PM ----------

now i get

/bin/sh: CURL: command not found
it says that in the emails.
 

descalzo

Grim Squeaker
Community Support
Messages
9,373
Reaction score
326
Points
83
Ok. I assume you are supposed to call it via the web htt://yadda.com/cronjob.php?yourSpecialCodeHere. Give me a bit to check how the current system is set up to see what works here.
 

daron0382

New Member
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Points
0
okay cool & thanx for taking the time to work me through this, i been added to ur reputation

---------- Post added at 08:26 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:17 PM ----------

/bin/sh:
https://****.x10.mx/cron_fivemins.php?code: No such
file or directory

---------- Post added at 08:57 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:26 PM ----------

i fixed it!!!! php -q /home/*****/public_html/cron_fivemins.php that is what i used
 
Last edited by a moderator:

descalzo

Grim Squeaker
Community Support
Messages
9,373
Reaction score
326
Points
83
Code:
wget -O -  http://nameOfYourSite.x10.bx/cron_fivemins.php?code=YourSecretCode >>/home/igor/public_html/cron_log.txt 2>&1

Will call your webpage/cronjob. NOTE: it is -O - , ie hyphen capital O (not zero 0 ) space hyphen
 
Top