Estate agent searching script

mikel2k3

Reaction score
Hi

I have a client that is wanting a letting agent website. I have never done anything like this before, so the main thing begind the letting agent website is the search funtion on there.

So i need a little help with the search function on there, that will allow anybody browsing the website to find a house to there needs. So they choose what they are looking for whether it be a 2bedroomed house with central heating then click search etc. As I have never done anything like this before, i need some help with it.

So my question is, does anybody know any current scripts that could do this for me... Or... does anybody know how to create a script that would be able to do this?

here is an example site of what i would be ideally be creating: http://www.letmove.com/

All help appreciated,
Mike :)

scopey

Reaction score
Assuming you have a database with all your houses in it, you can have a field in your database for each individual criteria. In other words, perhaps you could set up a database like:

Code:
| ShortDescription | PicUrl | Price | Bedrooms | Bathrooms | etc...
------------------------------------------------------------------
| Small 2 bedroom  | URL    | $1000 | 2        | 7         |
And then a user can simply use a search script that will check the column for and entry that meets his criteria. I havn't actually done much like this before either, but that's how I would go about it.

Good luck!

tnl2k7

Banned
Reaction score
If you're going to searching other websites, it's not going to be quite so easy. You'd have to have permission to access to their databases to search, and your script would have to account for the different names of tables / columns to find things.

Could you provide us with a clearer picture of what you're trying to do here please Mike? Like whether it's just for one site or several, for example?

-Luke.

mikel2k3

Reaction score
Thanks for the replies...