html noobie help please

coningsb

Reaction score
hi all ive made a website http://www.coningsbypool.x10.mx/ (thanks for the free hosting ! )

but after ive updated it, via dreamweaver, i have to click refresh to be able to see the update, (so do other people)
ive used the meta tags in the head
Code:
           <meta http-equiv="pragma" content="no-cache" />
            <meta http-equiv="expires" content="-1" />

but i still have to hit refresh to get the updated site

as its all self taught off utube please be gental with me !

Thanks

essellar

Community Advocate
Community Support
Reaction score
What are you updating? The CSS and images will not be affected by the cache setting on the page; each of those files has its own cache setting. (Nor are <meta> tags a substitute for actual HTTP headers, for that matter; if there is an ISP proxy between you and your x10Hosting server, it won't necessarily parse the HTML to find out that it shouldn't be caching the page if the HTTP headers tell it that there's no good reason why it can't be cached. It doesn't matter what your browser is requesting if the ISP's servers say "Ooh, I've got a copy of that that can save us a lot of bandwidth!!!") You can alter the HTTP header cache settings by changing your .htaccess file. (There are a bunch of tutorials out there for it; look for something that explains it clearly to you, since they're all at varying levels of "assume X technical knowledge", form n00b to guru.)