install drupal

abhi666

Reaction score
hello
plz do not mind for posing this question
i am new to web designing, i know html and java script
i am even new to the concept of content management softwares
well my question is how to upload drupal,(i mean to which folder of cpanel) just want to try and see how it works
plz do help me
thank u in advance and
Happy new year to all the members

bye
have a great day

lionheart8

Reaction score
You have 3 ways to install Drupal.

1. The simplest way is after logging in to your account, look for "Fantastico" towards the bottom of the page.
Assuming you still have free databases, select Drupal and you will be asked a few questions to prepare for the automatic installation, like the folder you want Drupal installed. You could call it "drupal" ... so your Drupal site will be accessed at www.yoursiteaddress.com/drupal ... or give it another name if you want.
If you want it installed directly in your root directory (public_html),ie so your drupal site is accessed at www.yoursiteaddress.com, I think you leave that directory field blank. Take note of what you chose so u know which address to use to access your site after installation.

You will also be required to fill in your Drupal site administrator username & password & the administrator email address to have some site details sent to u.
After that, you click ok, etc so the installation will be made by Fantastico, which will include creating the database.
The disadvantage here is they dont have the up to date version 5.5 (with some critical security patch) and it might take a while to update (Fantastico), though you can manually update after installation, but this might be a little complicated, though doable if u read the update instructions on the Drupal site. I think the Fantastico version at x10hosting currently has version 5.3