Need help TV shopping.

Livewire

Abuse Compliance Officer
Staff member
Reaction score
Thinking it's time to upgrade my tv - I'm still using one with the old RCA inputs. I'm trying to figure out a few different things, so consider me a complete Newbie on this stuff.

I know it depends on what I'd be using it for, so in short, combination Gaming and TV/Movies. Mostly TV/Movies but honestly if the tv's big enough I might just move my pc over and run it straight through the tv.

Knowing that, I'm seeing tons of stuff being tossed around; first and foremost I know that the lower the refresh time the better (something like 6.5ms apparently sounds good), but I've no idea WTF I'm looking at with stuff like Contrast Ratio, whether 800:1 is good or bad or what have you. That's where I'm needing the most help. I also know the old trick about the 26" TV's actually being 23" because they measure more than the screen on corner-to-corner, so I'm watching out for that already.

So I guess I'm looking for a decent brand, what the heck contrast ratio means, and anything else I should be watching out for when buying a TV, besides the obvious - get the extended warranty cause my luck dictates it'll be a smoking wreck in 6 months :) Any help's good here, other than links to places to get the tv - I'm probably going Walmart or Best Buy cause they're local and I like local when things go boom in the night :)

Smith6612

I ate all of the x10Pizza
Community Support
Reaction score
Thinking it's time to upgrade my tv - I'm still using one with the old RCA inputs. I'm trying to figure out a few different things, so consider me a complete Newbie on this stuff.

I know it depends on what I'd be using it for, so in short, combination Gaming and TV/Movies. Mostly TV/Movies but honestly if the tv's big enough I might just move my pc over and run it straight through the tv.