PHP Include, file help!

stillDOLL

Reaction score
I'm new to PHP but I just mangaged to put the content which I am going to use on all my pages on a "header.php" file and the other content which I put on a "footer.php" file. And the tutorial I was reading says to type in the script like this:

<?php include('header.php'); ?>
<div style="position: absolute; left: 246; top: 619; width: 574; height:180">
<div style="width: 574; height: 224"><p class="Header">Welcome~</div>
</div>
<?php include('footer.php'); ?>

I've done that and I even uploaded the "header" and the "footer" onto my server but when I upload this as one PHP file (main.php) and preview it it's just a blank screen with "Welcome~" on it!! >w<

Can someone please tell me what I'm doing wrong? and if I'm not doing this wrong does x10 support PHP??

Thanks!~^^,

Ann

-btw, if you don't get what I'm saying please feel free to email me at vampireheart.stilldoll@hotmail.com

freecrm

Reaction score
Couple of things to watch out for here...

Firstly, all my includes have double quotation marks (") but I'm not sure that has any relevance.

More importantly is the location of the included file. If they are in the same directory as the file you are including them into - there shouldn't be a problem but if they are in a directory above/below/different - you need to specify the path correctly.

Lastly (and this is probably the reason), your included file can only be the body part of a page. In other words, you need to strip out everything above (and including) <body>

Very simply put, your included files should only have code like this...

PHP:
<table>
<tr>
<td>Welcome</td>
</tr>
</table>
<?php echo $_SESSION['username']; ?>

If headers, opening or closing tags are in the include file, it confuses the page you are including them in.

Your main page would look something like this.

PHP:
<html>
<head>
<title>Title</title>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1">
</head>
<body>