Question about image uploading and mod_rewrite

Status
Not open for further replies.

ulric_dwyn64

Reaction score
Hi,

I am thinking about creating my own website to host my photograph's on (I am a beginner photographer). I have also considered that in the future I may want other people to upload their images as well, many images taken with professional or compact cameras are around 3MB so that's quite a hefty chunk of space if say 10 users were uploading their own images.

I just wondered if this would be okay?

Also, does mod_rewrite work? I've tried to get phpinfo(); but that doesn't work because it says about security, so I can't see if its working or not. I've used Google and also consulted the Wikipedia, however neither seem to provide an answer.

EDIT: The feature to allow users to upload their own images will not be implemented straight away. In fact I may not do it at all, but if I ever do, I just wondered how it would stand.

Kind Regards

Last edited:

MaestroFX1

Community Advocate
Community Support
Reaction score
Anything under 1GB should be okay.
Else, you have to opt for x10 paid services.

mod_rewrite - enabled
phpinfo() - disabled

ulric_dwyn64

Reaction score
Anything under 1GB should be okay.
Else, you have to opt for x10 paid services.

mod_rewrite - enabled
phpinfo() - disabled

Thanks for your reply, I guess its time to get to work! :cool: mod_rewrite is on? I'm doing something wrong then :p

Once again, thanks :D

MaestroFX1

Community Advocate
Community Support
Reaction score
Yes, mod_rewrite is enabled, but you couldn't get its status from php_info, as php_info is disabled. :)

Where are you getting error(s) ?

Also, note that you and only you are responsible for content of your hosting account.

calistoy

Free Support Volunteer
Community Support
Reaction score
Please make sure that you include RewriteBase / at the top of your rewrite rules in the .htaccess file.

ulric_dwyn64

Reaction score