Questions before getting a VPS for the first time

botdbr

Reaction score
Hi, first, good morning.

I've used the free hosting for few time and I want to have a VPS now. (After some search, I've found that here would be the better place to start and maybe continue. I'm new to vps/unix but may not be hard to learn from now, but never used a server like this, so I have some *newbie* questions.)

In a summary, this is what I need:

1. Server running in *a lot of time* (24/7) without stopping in the middle of a operation. (Well, I'm upgrading to vps mainly to uptime for running my bot that needs 24/7)

2. Speed doesn't matter too much as my applications needs time running and not many cpu resources. I maybe would need high speed only for building applications at the start and for the game server.

3. Run a game server at rare times (maybe 3 of 4 weekends in a month for 1 to 4 hours in each day). (Free server application but the game is paid.)

4. A domain for the public website (with 1-3 subdomains).

And now, the questions:

1) I would have 750GB Bandwidth limit in D3, so, what happens if I use it all? It will get a lower speed? Block all connections? If the bandwidth is exceeded at least me will be able to send/receive data from the server? (Like checking logs for debugging, ssh or some other data or controlling applications like those low cpu 24/7 bots).

2) How hard is to control bandwidth usage and speed per application (limiting bots and other application to something like 100KB/s or 1MB/s and unlimited amount), per IP connection (for the public website, I think I still can use only 100KB/s per user and unlimited amount here) and per day (like from 25 to 30 GB/day)?

3) How the paypal payment is done? (Never used it, but I can add credits to my paypal account. But, what to do next?)