Questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

JessicaR

Reaction score
Alright, I'm new to having all these option thingies and this has probably been asked, but I did do a search.

How do I use the pop3 mail option? I've never had one of these before.

Blazer9131

Reaction score
Alright, First off, to use POP3 Mail, you need a Mail Client. a good free mail client is ThunderBird. It is from the maker's of FireFox so You know its gonna be good =D

Now, We need to set up your ThunderBird so it can access your mail account

here are the defualt settings:

Mail Server Username: yourlogin+yourdomain
Incoming Mail Server: mail.yourdomain.net/.com
Incoming Mail Server: (SSL) X10SERVER.x10hosting.com
Outgoing Mail Server: mail.yourdomain.com/.net (server requires authentication) port 25
Outgoing Mail Server: (SSL) mail.yourdomain.com/.net (server requires authentication) port 25
Supported Incoming Mail Protocols: POP3, POP3S (SSL/TLS), IMAP, IMAPS (SSL/TLS)
Supported Outgoing Mail Protocols: SMTP, SMTPS (SSL/TLS)

Ok, So if your username is Bob, your domain is bob.x10hosting.com, and your hosted on server Stoli this is your username:

bob+bob.x10hosting.com

Incoming Mail Server: mail.bob.x10hosting.com
Incoming Mail Server: (SSL) stoli.x10hosting.com
Outgoing Mail Server: mail.bob.x10hosting.com
Outgoing Mail Server: (SSL) mail.bob.x10hosting.com

the ports for SSL and POP3 are 25. If you want to send mail, you can not use POP3, you have to use SMTP or SMTPS.

Last edited:

JessicaR

Reaction score
Holy crap! That sounds complicated. I'll have to check it out when I get home ;) . Thank you so much for your reply!

JessicaR

Reaction score
Ok, one more quick, related question. How many pop3 e-mail addressed can be used? I am the president of a non-profit organization (I'm having the build the website myself, but that's another story) and so I wanted to use one, but what if some other members want one too? How does that work?

Thank you in advance!

Blazer9131