some html help, plz

MasterMax1313

Reaction score
Ok, so I'm still kind of new to formating my html so that it looks exactly the way I want it to look. I need some help coming up with some html source code for the image that I've attached to this post. Basically, I know that I could use a table, but I'm trying to avoid using one as it would get pretty out of hand with trying to properly code it. I was thinking of spans or divs and some CSS, but I'm not sure of how to properly do it. In some cases (namely IE 7, the only IE version I've got), it works without

HTML:
<DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
however, with it, it doesn't even come close. So I'm trying to do this to be in some resemblance of compliance to standards:bash:.

Any help that you can offer would be greatly appreciated!

Attachments

• example.jpg
    example.jpg
    8.6 KB · Views: 30

Hazirak

Reaction score
It's probably not the most efficient method, but the first thing that comes to mind is to set one <div> tag to act as a wrapper... then three more <div> tags inside that, one for each column... and then two <div> tags (or <span> tags, depending on your preference) inside each column, one for each cell... and then format the whole fiasco with CSS however you please, something like:
HTML:
<div id="wrapper">
   <div id="column1">
      <span id="cell1">
      </span>
      <span id="cell2">
      </span>
   </div>
   <div id="column2">
      <span id="cell3">
      </span>
      <span id="cell4">
      </span>
   </div>
   <div id="column3">
      <span id="cell5">
      </span>
      <span id="cell6">
      </span>
   </div>
</div>
Like I said, it's probably not the most efficient solution, but if nothing else, it's a starting point. Just make sure you float the columns in the same direction so they line up side-by-side (ie: float: left;).

Last edited:

MasterMax1313

Reaction score