tips tricks and useful things to do with javascript needed

craigp86

Reaction score
I am new to javascript and i could do with some tips tricks and useful things i could us javascript for.any help is appreciated.

lemon-tree

x10 Minion
Community Support
Reaction score
If you don't know what you need to use Javascript for then it is not particularly useful to use it just for the sake of using it.
Anyway, I'll go on regardless; Javascript has a multitude of uses from simple to complex:

• UI responses - Can be used to provide user feedback when actions such as clicks are placed on your page. The result could range from a simple alert() to more complex animations etc.

• Form validation - Used to ensure that data entered into a form by the client has the correct format; note that this should never be used as the final line of defence for validity as a user may have Javascript disabled, which would render your validation useless.

• AJAX - Used to provide a asynchronous link to the server for loading data, this could be used for search suggestions or a live chat-box, this avoids the need to reload the page to poll the server for data and greatly enhances the user's experience.

• Animation/DOM control - Timers and event listeners can be used to provide animation on your page. Javascript can also be used to create, edit and destroy elements on the page, this means you could alter the styles or content of your pages on the fly without having to reload the page. The simplest use of this may be creating a clock on your page or having rollover effects on certain elements.

• Maps - Google has a great map API that can be used to create a whole range of mapping sites and is both simple to pick up and very extensible to larger projects.