website development tools

zester

Reaction score
HI All

I am new to X10 and some what new to web development.

any one know of some good website development tool, to help me make my site, that work good for a sit what will be host on X10.

I was thinking Deamwver CS3 would be good. what do you think?

souradipm

Reaction score
Dreamweaver, Frontpage, all are on your computer. I reccommend you get a CMS that's free, because you have easier control (dont have to reupload every update) and you can nominate others to help you, and also you can edit your site from any computer that has internet access and not just those with the program you mentioned.

http://www.opensourcecms.com/ is a site where you can demo different free cms's/blog engines/forum software, etc.

Reaction score
It depends what you're interested in doing and what tools you're after - you may be after tools that tell you how long your website takes to load, tools to create the website (like your post says/suggests), tools to maintaining your website and so on.

Just a quick google of 'Web development tools' will bring up a few helpful websites for you.

Good luck - be sure to post what you get up to in the Website Review section of the forum!

componentwarehouse

Reaction score
I would go for a combination of the 2. A CMS like Joomla is great after youve got a design done and its really easy to maintain and update, but Dreamweaver will make designing the site (or CMS template) a whole lot easier. Of course, if your coding from scratch, Dreamweaver CS3 is the best available in my opinion, but thats reflected in the price so.

Alex

keeg9

Reaction score
Dreamweaver can be expensive, i would go with a cms like Joomla! that is what i use.

Last edited:

perpsgt

Reaction score