What is the best Open Sourced CMS?

dweng

Reaction score
I am currently using Joomla
However i would like the opionion of others becuase i am quite new with open source cms. My question to you all is that: Which one would do you feel is the best out of all the open sourced cms. I mean like which ones would be easy to use, for users who are starting out and just want a random website with random stuff on it.? Thank YOu for your support
The options are:
xc_dotgrey.gif
Drupal
xc_dotgrey.gif
Geeklog
xc_dotgrey.gif
Joomla
xc_dotgrey.gif
Mambo Open Source
xc_dotgrey.gif
PHP-Nuke
xc_dotgrey.gif
phpWCMS
xc_dotgrey.gif
phpWebSite
xc_dotgrey.gif
Post-Nuke
xc_dotgrey.gif
Siteframe
xc_dotgrey.gif
TYPO3
xc_dotgrey.gif
Xoops

kajasweb

Reaction score
Beginners feel easy with Joomla and Mambo. After gaining some experience, you can switch to Drupal for more advanced & complex sites.

Livewire

Abuse Compliance Officer
Staff member
Reaction score
NE is not open sourced!!!!!!

https://sourceforge.net/projects/nukeevolution/

Licensed under the GPL (Gnu Public License).

Sounds like it's open source, isn't the GPL open source, and Source Forge itself limited to open source projects?

I'm downloading and extracting in a bit to see if I'm mistaken.

Edit: Think I maybe misunderstood the GPL, seems the GPL might just be related to releasing stuff for free. In any case I can see the source code and its definitely on Source Forge, so...Dunno whether I'd call it open source or not.

One things for sure: I can see its code, dunno how legal it'd be for me to mess with it though.

Last edited:

tcrow777

Reaction score
https://sourceforge.net/projects/nukeevolution/

Licensed under the GPL (Gnu Public License).

Sounds like it's open source, isn't the GPL open source, and Source Forge itself limited to open source projects?

I'm downloading and extracting in a bit to see if I'm mistaken.