XHTML Madness!

thorx10

Reaction score
I am brand new to web design so please forgive my obvious ignorance.

I am a little confused about serving an XHTML webpage as application/xhtml+xml. When I do so, and I click View Page Info in Mozilla's (3.5.1) context menu it says that the Type is text/html. Below this, in the Meta section it says:

Content-Type: application/xhtml+xml; charset=utf-8

Why does it say the Type is text/html when the Content Type is application/xhtml+xml?

When I serve the page as php and use a bit of code to detect if the browser can accept the application/xhtml+xml MIME type, Mozilla does in fact display the Type as application/xhtml+xml.

How can I serve the file as application/xhtml+xml for Firefox (and other browsers) using html only?

Examples:

HTML: www.hollowpursuits.x10hosting.com/test (View Page Info)
PHP: www.hollowpursuits.x10hosting.com/corporama (View Page Info)

Any help or insight would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks in advance.

Last edited:

misson

Community Paragon
Community Support
Reaction score
How did you try configure Apache to serve "test" as "application/xhtml+xml"? Whatever it was, it didn't work. If you view the "Headers" tab in the Page Info window (or use the Live HTTP Headers add-on), you'll see that Apache sends a "Content-type: text/html" header for the page.

Last edited:

thorx10

Reaction score
Thanks for the reply, and for the Headers add-on.

I didn't perform any configuration of the Apache server. I simply uploaded the .html file to my x10Hosting subdomain via ftp (the same way I did with the php page). Do I need to configure something in cPanel so that the .html files are served as "application/xhtml+xml" when the Content-Type is "application/xhtml+xml" in the file?

If it helps, here is the header code used on the php page:

<?php
if (stristr($_SERVER["HTTP_ACCEPT"],"application/xhtml+xml")) {
header("Content-type: application/xhtml+xml");
echo '<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?'.'>';
}
else {