What do you do for a living?

denzil

Reaction score
Thought it would be interesting to see what people here do for a living (besides web development - unless that is all you do).

I'm a student in Stellenbosch (south africa). Currently studying for a bachelors degree in Electrical and Electronic Engineering - 3rd year out of 4. Also working on a website that will hopefully bring me some income one day!

essellar

Community Advocate
Community Support
Reaction score
OK, I'll bite.

I have led what can only be described as an improbable life; at least it is improbable in the modern era. You could call me a bit of a Renaissance man, I suppose, or perhaps a polymath. Or, rather, you could have, while my brain was still functioning properly. At the moment (and very likely for all of my remaining moments) I am not doing anything for a living. I have little control over my body, the memory of the proverbial goldfish, and (though it's sometimes difficult to tell in the online world) I have a great deal of difficulty with understanding language or making myself understood. Technology hides a lot of that, but it can't hide my inability to synthesize new ideas (or, on the odd occasion when I can, to later comprehend those ideas). I have moments when I am very nearly as lucid as I once was (if you can ignore the chorea and the drooling, spitting, stammering and slurring), but they are few, unpredictable and short-lived. I get by on a small government allowance (and when I say small, I mean small -- my total income last year was less than two thousand dollars Canadian) plus the odd gift from friends (like the computer I am using at the moment).