Does grammar matter to you?

Does improper grammar bother you?

• YES! It annoys me greatly. KILL THEM ALL!

Votes: 43 68.3%
  • nah it dont really

Votes: 16 25.4%
  • I don't know/ I don't care.

Votes: 4 6.3%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

mender42

Reaction score
Bear with me there's a point. If you feel the need skip to the last two paragraphs. :happysad:

I met and worked with a man at an automotive plant. I was a technician and he was the Senior Plant Manger of Shipping and /Receiving, and had been for about 8 years. He was the "go-to-guy" that department. To do his job he had perform inventory, operate PCs CRM/CMS programs, read Bar Code Numbers, colors, quantities and negotiate with vendors and managers.

As time went on I got to know him better, and noticed that if I handed him written memos, he always asked alot of questions. If I gave him verbal instructions, (no matter how complicated) he would say "No problem" and ask NO questions! It became a running joke between us, I would tease him about all his "memo" questions, and he would complain that the handwriting was lousy. :)

Came the day when I had misread an order and had to go to him to get it corrected. I was apologizing to him, when while laughing at me; he confided that he couldn't read at all!

He was running an Automotive Shipping and Receiving Department by shape recognition and memory! That's why he always quizzed me about anything written, he was memorizing!!!

He told me he had never passed 3rd grade, and no one at the plant knew.

I was stunned. I knew that 8 years before I had met him, his management and communication skills had earned him his promotion. In the company his accomplishments were legendary. (They never realized how legendary!) How did he do it? Listening and Memorizing. Wow. Awesome. Incredible intellect!

It's a tricky paradigm: