Votes: 2 33.3%
  • no

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • may be

Votes: 4 66.7%

• Total voters

hamtum

Reaction score
tell me guys and girls:dunno::dunno::dunno::dunno::dunno::dunno::dunno::dunno::dunno:

merrillmck

Reaction score
I'm new to all this but I think it comes down to your product/idea, your site/app quality, and your marketing. You definitely need the first two and unless you get lucky you'll probably need to market your website or product too.

1. Product/idea - no one is going to repeatedly visit your website, encourage others to visit it, or purchase something on your website unless there is interesting content on it.

2. Quality - if you have a great idea and information but broken links, error messages, and just any other issues that make the experience bad then it's likely you won't get repeat visitors and you might earn a negative reputation. If you truly have a great idea and broken website, then a savvy person might take your idea and make a slick website and market your idea. Think you'll sue them? ... what if they're out of another country?

3. Marketing - eventually you need to get the word out. Your website needs to appear on search engines. You need links out there pointing your way. Maybe you'll need to purchase advertising if you stand a chance to make more money in the long run. If someone wants your product then they need to be able to find it.

Again, to me this all seems like common sense and pretty in line with a non-web business or money-making model. I think you're kidding yourself if you think you can just make a generic site and suddenly get a financial windfall.

Livewire

Abuse Compliance Officer
Staff member
Reaction score
Should clarify on the lawsuit thing too, I'm not entirely positive you -cant- sue someone from another country (although it surely makes it more difficult), but you'd still have to prove they actually stole your idea.