Roller~Poster

fflandrath53

Reaction score
Roller~Poster is what I call a content aggregator (public) and bookmark service (public and private, with registration). It's an evolving application that I've been playing around with for a couple years. Recently I've added several new modules, including the Associated Press on line content (53 categories of news from around the world). AP stories can be bookmarked to both public and private collections. And, if you are total news junkie you might like the Al Jazeera English live stream, or Reuters pics and vids embeded widget, CSPAN, Democracy Now daily report, NPR hourly report and more...

Let me know your what you think.

Roller~Poster

Last edited:

cybrax

Community Advocate
Community Support
Reaction score
Hi Floyd

I like the idea of public bookmarks as a way of promoting more obscure sites that people are otherwise unlikely to find and using RSS news feeds as a source of content is a good idea.

As for the site itself .... layout, graphics, useability and navigation aside for moment there is a more fundamental problem.

Allthough javascript is a wonderful tool for performing on screen wizardry this magic only happens inside a visitors web browser, search engines however only read the source code as sent from the web server and do not process any of the javascript. So what you see on screen and what the google search engine looks at are very different.

Remember Google can only index and rank the site according to what it can see.

There is obviously some server side scripting going on behind the scenes (you really should prevent directory browsing) and would suggest you explore using this more to process the feeds and store some of that content in order that it may be included into a page for passing search engines to read.

chessteaching48

Reaction score