Any guides for starting phpbb3 forums?

Arkayer

Reaction score
I am a total newbie when it comes to this stuff. I've only gotten as far as downloading the "phpBB 3.0.2 (zip)" file and I don't know what to do next.

I know I want to use x10Hosting to host the forum, but I don't know where to start. Are there any people/guides out there that can explain how to make a phpbb3 forum step-by-step?

Thanks for any help you can provide.

TheMan177

Reaction score
First, go into cPanel's MySQL database manager, and create a database, create a user and asign it to that database, as well. Once you have the database, upload the PhpBB zip file, and extract it into the directory of your choice.

Once that's done, navigate to the forum's install url, which will be <forumdirectory>/install/index.php. You'll be prompted to fill in the details for the database (that you just created), as well as some other settings, and the creation of the first forum account. This thread may be of use to you. It would also be a good idea to take a look at PhpBB's official documentation.

brunoais

Reaction score
And if you need help installing (which I don't think you do) you may ask me for help :)

Arkayer

Reaction score
Thanks for the information, but I really am a total newbie at this, seeing that I barely understood what TheMan117 said. :\

I don't have a domain, besides those .tk redirects. Where would I find cPanel's MySQL database manager?

TheMan177

Reaction score
Login to cPanel at yoursite.tk:2082 if you haven't already. Once you're in, under a catagory called databases, there'll be a link called "MySQL® Databases"

mysqlpic1.gif

Last edited:

ovensuk

Reaction score
Hi guys I'm thinking of setting up a site with a phpbb forum as well.

I've got the basic, adfree account at the moment. I notice that this doesn't allocate as much storage and bandwidth as the 'ad-enhanced' account.