HRU (High Resource Usage) Policy Change

Status
Not open for further replies.

Corey

I Break Things
Staff member
Messages
34,553
Reaction score
204
Points
63
We are aware that high resource usage suspensions are the number one complaint for the free hosting service so we've been working on a less invasive way to track usage and take actions to keep the servers stable.

First, I will need to explain CPU usage a bit below.
Going forward you will be allowed 300 CPU seconds per hour, 1 second of CPU time means you used a full core (2.93Ghz) for the whole second. If you used 293Mhz for 10 seconds it would equal 1 second of CPU time.

It does not matter to us when you use this CPU time, it can be the beginning of the hour, or the end. You can use it all at once or spread it out throughout the hour. This will solve the problem of people being suspended for installing and upgrading scripts where short bursts of high CPU are required.

If you hit your CPU limit your traffic will be redirected to a page telling the users that you have hit your resource limit and to please try again in an hour. Once an hour is up your resource usage will automatically reset and your site will work as usual. If your traffic is redirected your cPanel, FTP, and email will still work fine. This will allow you access to your files and email giving you the ability to try and resolve the high resource issue.

With the above you will also find new icons in your cPanel that will let you track your own CPU time and other resources that your account is using including some hourly and daily graphs.

This system is almost fully implemented on all free hosting servers, we hope to put it live in the next 24 hours. At that time automatic HRU suspensions will be shut off in favor of this new system.

Please note, CPU time and other limits may change as we gather data from the new system.

As always, we do not provide support in news threads, however I will be happy to answer any questions about the new system.
 

masshuu

Head of the Geese
Community Support
Enemy of the State
Messages
2,293
Reaction score
50
Points
48
I gave you an idea like this like 6 years ago
 

phoenix2010

Member
Messages
315
Reaction score
0
Points
16
Thanks corey this will make things a little easier.

especialy the button in cpanel where users can track there own usage , totaly brilliant
 

blacknight.the89

New Member
Messages
45
Reaction score
0
Points
0
I dont know... my site went offline now due this new system and i believe is more troublesome than the older one since I could fix the problems and try not to get past 25% of cpu now i have to make the few users I had wait 1 hour for using less than that.... great D:
 

blogalfred001182

New Member
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Points
0
I dont like this HRU new policy.
cant upload anymore a big files 100mb by remote it will stop in 45 second in loading and the upload will stop -.- and i see in the folder there a file name php_errorlog i open it and the error is [19-Sep-2011 04:46:10] PHP Fatal error: Maximum execution time of 45 seconds exceeded in /home/bloggera/public_html/ line 119
 

Jake

Developer
Contributors
Messages
4,057
Reaction score
5
Points
0
That has little to do with the new HRU policy and everything to do with php maximum execution time. You should be uploading files via FTP anyway. Uploading that large of files over a php script does not ensure the file will be fully uploaded at all.
 
Last edited:

theone48

New Member
Messages
237
Reaction score
7
Points
0
Pardon me, but please illuminate. What is the meaning of 'usage', how does somebody get to spend/surpass these seconds? Do they have anything to do with real seconds?

---------- Post added at 07:59 AM ---------- Previous post was at 07:52 AM ----------

Never mind, it's answered in the other thread. Thanks.
 

vv.bbcc19

Community Advocate
Community Support
Messages
1,524
Reaction score
92
Points
48
I dont like this HRU new policy.
cant upload anymore a big files 100mb by remote it will stop in 45 second in loading and the upload will stop -.- and i see in the folder there a file name php_errorlog i open it and the error is [19-Sep-2011 04:46:10] PHP Fatal error: Maximum execution time of 45 seconds exceeded in /home/bloggera/public_html/ line 119

The issue discussed is different from you mentioned.
By the way, why such big files to be uploaded!!
Kindly check again so that the files (>100Mb) abide to ToS.Goodluck.
 

theone48

New Member
Messages
237
Reaction score
7
Points
0
Yeah, I don't think you could ever upload files bigger than 100mb without breaking Terms of Service.
 

Anna

I am just me
Staff member
Messages
11,529
Reaction score
556
Points
113
You can not change php.ini, it is a server wide setting.
 

Dead-i

x10Hosting Support Ninja
Community Support
Messages
6,084
Reaction score
367
Points
83
I dont like this HRU new policy.
cant upload anymore a big files 100mb by remote it will stop in 45 second in loading and the upload will stop -.- and i see in the folder there a file name php_errorlog i open it and the error is [19-Sep-2011 04:46:10] PHP Fatal error: Maximum execution time of 45 seconds exceeded in /home/bloggera/public_html/ line 119
If you upload a file via a .php file, the file must take lower than 45 seconds to upload. If this happens, this error will occur. Like the others said, this has little to do with this new system, and FTP is a good alternative for uploading larger files.

Yeah, I don't think you could ever upload files bigger than 100mb without breaking Terms of Service.
Even when you use FTP?
Although, why would you need to upload files higher than 100mb? x10hosting only permits web hosting (not file storage) and from all the CMSs I've seen they're usually below 50mb?

cant found php.ini . how to make unlimited php maximum execution time?
The php.ini is in the control of x10Hosting and cannot be changed by you.
Even if x10Hosting changed this file, it would affect every single user on that server.
 
Last edited:

skurwiel55

New Member
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Points
0
He said that he can't upload via php files with size 100 MB, so... it is not higher than 100 MB. Anyway your HRU system cause php overuse of memory and it don't works.

By the way:

PHP:
set_time_limit(0);

This (at the beginning of the script file, below <?) will hold execution of php file till it's done.

You are welcome.
 

renovatio_2143

New Member
Messages
38
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Is this rule the same with prime and illuminated users? Anyway trying to understand the graph, my traffic will get redirected for an hour if the red line pass the 90 limit on the first graph and/or 300 limit on the second graph? (whew i almost reached those limits while trying to install wp on a subdomain)
 

Livewire

Abuse Compliance Officer
Staff member
Messages
18,168
Reaction score
215
Points
63
He said that he can't upload via php files with size 100 MB, so... it is not higher than 100 MB.

Without disclosing the details of that users new permanent suspension, yes indeed it -was- bigger than 100mb. The new HRU rules don't change that you still have to abide by the terms regarding that we aren't to be used for file storage or for warez/copyright infringement hosting :)


Other than that I like the new HRU system because it doesn't revoke access to the account; the old one pretty much made it impossible to edit anything to prevent it from HRU'ing because the account was locked. This one I like :)
 
Last edited:

skurwiel55

New Member
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Points
0
@Livewire

ToS of x10hosting aren't very specific, you can't host sites with file storage, but you can host site with file storage when files are listed in the index.html/.php/.htm. Another example is site with pedophile photos encrypted with aes and processed by php after user request, ToS forbids doing things illegal by law, but sites with encrypted pedophilia aren't suspended.

And why you don't suspend people with vBulletin nulled with keygens? Stopping at preventing php-nulled scripts isn't all you need to do...

Well, examples of misunderstanding ToS (or it's errors) are in the very big number.

Oups... I won't do your job - search by yourself for pages I use above (for my research I used Google.us+Domaintools.com).

And, still, php overuse memory which is a basic reason why every dang script don't work :(.

OK, I will be an a$hole -> http://tech-hacker.com <- warez+hacking+blackhat site hosted on your server (starka), proof: http://whois.domaintools.com/tech-hacker.com
 
Last edited:

descalzo

Grim Squeaker
Community Support
Messages
9,373
Reaction score
326
Points
83
skurwiel55 : if you have evidence of pedophilia on x10 servers, please explain.
 

Livewire

Abuse Compliance Officer
Staff member
Messages
18,168
Reaction score
215
Points
63
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top